//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Josep Knows

I was hesitant to post this a few months back when I got this in my inbox but today, I admit, reluctantly that it is absolutely and 100% spot on. I often don’t admit when I am wrong or when others are right but, as I always say, there is an exception to every rule.

One of my best friends, Joseph, sent this to me and I was instantly skeptical. Read it and let him know how right he was about this. @Ihateyourclub

 

Fool me once shame on you, Fool me twice….

May 2011 – By this time last year Arsene Wenger was telling the supporters that he would do whatever he could to convince Cesc Fabregas and Samir Nasri to stay at the club. Apparently, both had already expressed their desire to leave Arsenal Football Club. And at the end of a long drawn out summer that saw Cesc Fabregas leave one week and Samir (I’M A CUNT) Nasri to leave another week.

May 2012 – Arsene Wenger states that he believes Robin van Persie will sign a new contract with Arsenal. Robin states he wants to sit down in the summer with Ivan and Arsene and talk about a new contract. But what ifhe has already stated his desire to Wenger? Is it out of the realm of possibility that this meeting has already happened? Does a man of 28 really not know what he wants to do? If he wanted to extend, would he really want to wait? Either he does want to extend with the club or he doesn’t? No trophies or no CL football is an excuse.

If you were Arsene Wenger and you sat down with van Persie and said you wanted to extend, but he said he had wishes to move on from the club, then what would you do? Would you play him every minute of every match until the end of the season? What about when you were leading Blackburn at home in February 6-1 after 62 minutes and a van Persie hat-trick, would you substitute him off? Perhaps for a deserved rest after a long Christmas period or maybe just to give him the standing ovation he deserved.

What about a 3-0 match at home vs a poor Villa side? Perhaps 15 or 20 minutes rest and an opportunity for one of your other strikers to get a few minutes on the pitch. Or Maybe when you were up 3 goals to a relegation place Wolves after 70 minutes. As these matches were happening, I read most of those I follow on twitter begging for van Persie to be substituted.

Or just maybe you already know van Persie will leave in the summer and you want to get every single minute out of him you can. So, you can cash in on him, let him play a long summer at Euro2012 and move onto which ever club will pay the highest transfer fee for him. (and perhaps be injured for said new club)

Maybe the tides at the club have changed, but until the Club refuse to sell their best players, I will error on the side of caution.I, for one, am prepared for the worst. Another summer where we lose a world-class player and we get someone who is not quite world-class but perhaps could be after a few years. What else would I expect?

We will promote from within

 

Taking into consideration the RVP announcement today, it is like reading a transcript of your breakup  with your girlfriend before she even dumps you for that younger, much better looking guy. Welp, onwards and upwards. We must absolutely sell now and sell fast. He will command high wages which will lower his transfer value on top of the damage his Dear John letter will do to Arsene and Ivan at the bargaining table.

As I bid America a Happy Birthday I bid you Adieu, Robin. You were one the most complete strikers I ever had the pleasure of watching wear the red and white. You fought for the club on the pitch and your commitment on the pitch was never in question to me. Thank you for what you’ve done for us over the years and I wish you the best. You have kinda of put us in a tough position, which is actually kind of f’d up but others have done worse.

Try to go out and enjoy your day, people.

About Chilangoonerblog

A Chilango, and a gooner blogging about all things Arsenal, world football and randomness. Un Chilango, y gooner blogeando del mejor equipo del mundo, Arsenal FC, El Tri, y cualquier baboseada que se me ocurre.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Categories