//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

FORWARD Arsenal 1 Newcastle 1.

"Why I oughta..."

Is it a coincidence that the season we send Denilson out on loan, the club motto becomes FORWARD ?  I THINK NOT. Anyway, that’s beside the point…

The draw on Saturday put a lot of us in panic mode. Considering our finishing, or lack thereof, I can understand some of the frustration. Looking at the stats, will only make you more angry. Only 2 of our 11 shots were actually on target.  We dominated possession, as usual and Newcastle were pretty well-organized defensively.

Gervinho started his Arsenal career in controversial fashion. He got into some great positions and his pace is gonna be a big boost this season. He seems to have proved to all of us, he really is an Arsenal player. Pace, touch, creative and a reluctance to shoot that would make Alex Hleb jealous. I do think Predator will be less shy about pulling the trigger in the future when he gets settled into the league more.

As for the incident that led to his red card, my sentiments were made very clear on twitter. Barton is a cunt of the highest order. In no way do I think Gervinho’s reaction was unjustified. You can’t act like a big tough guy like Barton does, and then go down the way he did when someone slaps you in the face. I don’t wish bad on people. I am for the most part a level-headed person but I think if there is justice in this world, Barton will, in the near future, get hit by a bus carrying holocaust survivors on their way to McDonald’s.

Was Song wrong to stamp on him? Probably. Did Barton deserve to get stamped on? Yes. He has been acting like a cunt all game. I love how the media have already gone on to defend a guy who is an alcoholic, convicted violent criminal, and a neo-nazi. Typical. What can you expect from a pack of people who defended Shawcross after his scythe on Ramsey.

There are plenty of talking points to take from the game but the ones I wanna focus on are the positives. To draw any definite conclusions from one game would be foolish. It’s gonna take some time for us to learn how to play without a certain Spaniard but we will adjust and the side will be much different when Theo can start, Jack can play, and the team start flowing.

I felt the defense played well together. The communication is something I feel need improving but it is obvious Koscielny and Vermaelen are our first choice CB pairing. As well they should be. They are both technically suited for it and seem to have good chemistry. Sagna looked a bit rusty but he is solid as a rock so I’m not concerned about it. Gibbs on the other hand…err. I said I wasn’t gonna focus on the negative so I’ll say he made a few good runs and he can help in opening up defenses with those and his crossing is good.

The midfield bossed the game. Song was shutting everything down and for the most part, kept Songinho under control. Rambo and Rosicky played well together but neither was direct enough and relied a bit too much on Gervinho and Arshavin to provide the creativity.

RVP wore the armband and should probably get used to it, despite not being everyone’s (including mine) first choice for it. I just don’t think a forward should be captain. It has nothing to do with RVP. He is a great leader, loves the club, and is our best player. I just think the role of captain, as I have said in the past should be trusted to a defender. That’s just my view.

I felt Arshavin had a good game. I am glad he will have more help this season in that position. As we saw last season, the wide position doesn’t suit him very well at all and when he’s tired, we have speedy guys ready to come on and provide pace, especially with the expected arrivals.

The subs, in my opinion were largely ineffective. Theo could find his stride. Not sure if he wasn’t 100% fit. Frimpong got very few touches (despite coming on and looking like and absolute tank)  and Djourou looked lost in the DM role. We could have won it at the end if we took our chances a little better. It will come. I think in hindsight a point at Newcastle will be a good one.

Looking around at the other results of the weekend, we should be happy not to have conceded, our goalkeeper issues seem to be resolved, and the side is gonna grow in-depth and maturity soon.

With Udinese coming up in our CL qualifier on Tuesday we have very little to no time to sit and feel sorry for ourselves. AW has 3 days (counting today) to get the squad ready for that game.

We will be w/o RvP and for what it’s worth, Nasri,  so we’ll probably see Chamakh start in the point man role with Arshavin, Gervhino or possibly Theo on the wings. I suspect the midfield will remain unchanged as Jack Wilshere has yet to recover from his ankle problem. Defense should be the same as well. With Chamakh in that position, we will need Rambo or Rosicky to be much more direct that they were on Saturday. CL qualification is more important than any signing right now so I hope AW is really focusing the players he has right now on this game, and nothing else.

As I said earlier, our motto this year is FORWARD. So I will do nothing but look forward to what is to come for this team. I have cried my tears, I’ve ate the tub of ice cream, I’ve watched the YouTube videos of his, I’ve ripped up the pictures of us, and I’ve sung the breakup songs. I’m over it. He’s gone. We’re not. Another is soon to follow and we shall sing his name instead. Fuck him and those cunts. They don’t deserve any more of our time or attention.  FORWARD

VICTORIA CONCORDIA CRESCIT, bitches

About Chilangoonerblog

A Chilango, and a gooner blogging about all things Arsenal, world football and randomness. Un Chilango, y gooner blogeando del mejor equipo del mundo, Arsenal FC, El Tri, y cualquier baboseada que se me ocurre.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Categories